Australia got off to a poor start, losing Mitchell Marsh in the first over to Mohammed Shami. David Warner and Steve Smith then steadied the ship with a 94-run partnership for the second wicket.

However, India struck back twice in quick succession, with Jadeja dismissing Warner and Shami castling Smith.

Australia continued to lose wickets regularly, with Labuschagne, Green, and Inglis all falling cheaply.

Australia were eventually bowled out for 276 in 49.5 overs. Shami was the pick of the Indian bowlers with a five-wicket haul.

India got off to a good start in their chase, with openers Shubman Gill and Ruturaj Gaikwad putting on a 110-run partnership for the first wicket.

Gill was eventually dismissed for 63, but Gaikwad continued to bat well and scored his maiden ODI century.

Gaikwad was eventually dismissed for 106, but India had already reached a comfortable position.

Shreyas Iyer and Suryakumar Yadav then finished the game off with an unbeaten 60-run partnership. India won the match by 6 wickets with 10 overs to spare.

Mohammed Shami was named the player of the match for his five-wicket haul.

Player of the match